Gluten-Free Soy Sauce Comparison

chopsticks-698495_960_720

When it comes to eating gluten-free, one of the most difficult things to control for is sauces as they are a big source of hidden gluten. While many sauces in Western cuisine containĀ flour as a thickener, in Asian cuisine, the culpritĀ is soy sauce. Most soy sauces out there contain wheat, which is an issue for celiacs and can be an issue for gluten intolerant people, depending on how much soy sauce you consume. I personally eat 2 boiled egg whites with either soy sauce or organic ketchup every day for breakfast, so even though I’m not celiac, it has been important to me to find a good wheat-free soy sauce. I also love sushi but have yet to encounter a sushi restaurant that serves gluten-free soy sauce (so yes, I do bring my own soy sauce to sushi restaurants).

Continue Reading